+51 986857391


+51 084 597097

Inkayni Peru Tours

Inkayni Peru Tours

Chakana or Andean cross, millenary symbol of the Aboriginal Peoples

Chakana or Andean cross is a millenary symbol of the Aboriginal Peoples. If you had the opportunity to visit Cusco, you may have noticed the Chakana. A stepped cross that is made up of an equal-armed cross indicating the cardinal points of the compass and a superimposed square. You will find this symbol on different handicrafts, and clothes. But, are you aware of its meaning? Would you like to know more about this Andean symbol? Join us on this exciting discovery!

Chakana o Cruz Andina

Chakana or Andean cross

Chakana or Andean Cross:

The “Chakana” or Andean cross is a strong symbol of the old cultures of the Andes and is considered the most complete, holy, geometric design of the Incas. Traditionally, the Chakana represents the constellation of the Southern Cross which is to be seen in the southern hemisphere. According to the opinion of the old Andes population, this was the center of the Universe and was easy to find when they looked up in the sky at night. The Chakana has had, and still has, a considerable meaning to the Incas and it also represents many meanings in its design.

Characteristics of the Chakana:

  • At the heart of the chakana is a circular hole. Surrounding this circle are four corners, ridged with three steps each.
  • Represents the Southern Cross constellation cross, as this was thought by the Incas to be the location of the center of the universe.
  • Each of the three steps of one corner is meant to represent one of the three worlds of the Inca belief system.
  • The geometry of the symbol has a high degree of symmetry which can reflect their astronomical observations.
  • It also indicates the four seasons of the year and the sowing and harvest time.

Chakana o Cruz andina

How long has the Chakana or Southern Cross been part of the Andean Culture?

According to history, this symbol was used for pre-inca cultures. The twelve-cornered design itself occasionally appears in pre-contact artifacts such as textiles and ceramics from different cultures such as the Wari, Ica, and Tiwanaku. Being Caral culture one of the first cultures on registering the existence of the Chakana.

This symbol was also found in old places and holy centers in the Andes, in Bolivia, Ecuador, Argentina and Chile. It is worth mentioning that these countries belonged to the original Qhapaq Ñan network of trails or Inca Trail.

Why does the Chakana have that geometrical shape?

Chakana is not a form found at random, but rather it is a geometrical shape resulting from astronomical observation. Ancient men “brought heaven to earth” and represented it with this symbol that contains opposing components that explain a vision of the universe, being thus represented the masculine and the feminine, the sky and the earth, the above and the below , energy and matter, time and space. The shape of the chakana encloses in its geometry the concept of Number Pi and the real number twenty-seven.

Other meanings of Chakana or Southern Cross:

Chakana also indicates the four seasons of the year and the sowing and harvesting times. Some Andean peoples celebrate May 3rd as Chakana’s day, because on this day, the Southern Cross assumes the astronomical form of a perfect cross and is a sign of harvest time. The southern cross was venerated by ancient inhabitants of Peru and, until today, the tradition of protecting the crops is maintained by marking the cultivated area with various Chakanas. This symbol has nothing to do with the Christian cross.

What is Andean astronomy?

Movements of the sun, moon, and stars were watched and interpreted by the Inca. The astronomical observations made in and near the former capital, Cusco influenced the way constructions were designed and built and the rituals that bound the society together.

Inhabitants of the Andean Culture used to give names to the shapes they saw in the night sky. Among these figures we can name the following:

  • Mach’acuay – the Snake
  • Hanp’atu –  the toad
  • Yutu – the partridge
  • Urcuchillay – the llama
  • Atoq – the fox


“Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all.” – Helen Keller

If you liked this article and the information you found, give us 5 stars!

1 estrella2 estrellas3 estrellas4 estrellas5 estrellas (Ninguna valoración todavía)